The Callaway rangefinder battery depends on the model. The 300 Pro (including the Limited Edition versions), 350TL, 250 and 200s each take one replaceable CR2 3-volt lithium cell under a twist-open hatch. The newer 300 Pro+, Pro XS+, Micro Pro and Screen View have a built-in rechargeable battery instead, and the 300 Pro+, Pro XS+ and Micro Pro charge over USB-C.
Quick check: a hatch with a lift tab means a CR2; a USB-C port means you charge it. Below is the battery for every Callaway laser we could confirm in Callaway’s own manuals and product pages, with the official replacement steps, what the battery icon means, how long a cell or a charge lasts, and what to do when a fresh battery does not fix it.
Key facts
- CR2 3V lithium: 300 Pro and 300 Pro Limited Edition, 350TL, 250 / 250+, 200s. Each manual says "CR2 3-Volt Lithium Battery".
- Built-in rechargeable: 300 Pro+ (USB-C, 30+ rounds per charge), Pro XS+ (USB-C), Micro Pro (USB-C, about 6 hours to full, 100+ rounds) and Screen View (6–8 hours per charge).
- Empty battery icon on a CR2 model: about 200 ranges left. Flashing icon: replace before the next round.
- Callaway warns that a weak battery "can affect the accuracy of the device", so change it early.
Callaway rangefinder battery type by model
Only what Callaway states in a manual or on its own product page (callawaytag.com) is in the table. Where Callaway does not name the cell, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Model | Battery type | Where it goes / how to change | Battery life (Callaway) | Auto-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 300 Pro and 300 Pro Limited Edition (Elyte, Paradym, Quantum) | CR2 3V lithium (replaceable) | Twist-open hatch with lift tab | Empty icon = about 200 ranges left | 10 seconds idle |
| 350TL | CR2 3V lithium (replaceable) | Twist-open hatch with lift tab | Low-battery icon = about 200 ranges left | 5 seconds idle |
| 250 / 250+ | CR2 3V lithium (replaceable) | Twist-open hatch with lift tab | Low-battery icon = about 200 ranges left | 10 seconds idle |
| 200s | CR2 3V lithium (replaceable) | Twist-open hatch with lift tab | Low-battery icon = about 200 ranges left | 5 seconds idle |
| 300 Pro+ | Built-in rechargeable | USB-C charging | 30+ rounds per charge | Not stated |
| Pro XS+ | Built-in rechargeable | USB-C charging | Not published | Not stated |
| Micro Pro | Built-in rechargeable | USB-C, 5V/1A, about 6 hours to full | 100+ rounds per charge | Not stated |
| Screen View | Built-in rechargeable | Charge from full; connector not stated | 6–8 hours per charge | Not stated |
| Pro XS, LS, XLS, CSi Pro | Replaceable cell; type not named in the manual | Battery door (labelled in the Pro XS, LS and XLS diagrams) | Not published | Not stated |
Pro XS, LS, XLS and CSi Pro owners: Callaway’s downloadable guides for these models show a battery door but do not print the cell type. Every other Callaway laser with a door takes a CR2, so open the door and match the cell you find before you order. Other brands are in the rangefinder battery finder, and Blue Tees owners have their own page on the Blue Tees rangefinder battery.
Callaway 300 Pro battery: CR2 or rechargeable?
This is where most of the confusion comes from. The standard 300 Pro and its Limited Edition colorways run on one CR2; Callaway’s manual page for them is shared ("300 Pro Laser Rangefinder & Limited Edition") and the manual lists a "CR2 3-Volt Lithium Battery". The 300 Pro+ is a different unit: Callaway’s product page describes a "USB-C rechargeable battery delivering 30+ rounds per charge" and says USB-C charging "eliminates the need for disposable batteries".
- A hatch with a lift tab and no USB-C port: 300 Pro (or Limited Edition). It takes one CR2.
- A USB-C port: 300 Pro+. Charge it; do not order batteries.
- Still unsure: check the model name on the box or your order confirmation. Everything else about the 300 Pro, from slope to specs, is on our Callaway 300 Pro page.
How to replace the battery in a Callaway rangefinder (CR2 models)
The 300 Pro, 350TL, 250 and 200s manuals give the same four steps. You need one CR2 3-volt lithium cell and a flat surface to work over.
- Lift the hatch tab. It folds up from the battery cap on the body.
- Turn the cap counterclockwise to open, then take out the old cell.
- Remove the protective plastic battery cover. On a new unit this is the step people miss, and a cell still behind its cover makes the rangefinder look dead.
- Fit the new CR2, replace the battery cap and tighten it clockwise. Snug is enough; do not force it.
- Press Power and range a target to check you get a number and that the battery icon is full.
Work over a table or the cart seat: the cap is the part that gets dropped in long grass. A case that holds the hatch shut in the bag is covered on the Callaway 300 Pro case page.
Which CR2 battery to buy for a Callaway rangefinder
Callaway does not name a preferred brand; any name-brand 3-volt lithium CR2 fits. Duracell, Energizer and Panasonic are compared on capacity, cold rating and price per cell in our best CR2 battery for a rangefinder guide. Two things not to buy:
- A CR123A. Same 3 volts but longer and wider, so it will not fit a CR2 hatch. The sizes are side by side in CR2 vs CR123A.
- A rechargeable RCR2. These typically run at a higher voltage than a 3-volt CR2, and Callaway’s manuals specify a lithium CR2 only.
How long does a Callaway rangefinder battery last?
For the CR2 models Callaway gives no rounds figure, only the warning point: once the battery icon is empty there are "approximately 200 ranges left until the battery is completely drained". For most players that is two or three rounds, so order a spare when you first see it. The laser only draws real power when you press, and the auto-off (10 seconds on the 300 Pro and 250, 5 seconds on the 350TL and 200s) keeps idle drain low, so a CR2 typically lasts months of weekend golf.
For the rechargeables Callaway does publish figures: 30+ rounds per charge on the 300 Pro+, 100+ rounds on the Micro Pro, and 6–8 hours of use on the Screen View. The Micro Pro manual recommends a 5V/1A USB charger and says a full charge takes about 6 hours, with the indicator light turning green when it is done.
One battery drain to know about on the 350TL: its manual warns that "if the PowerPad is inadvertently held down, the battery will drain". Store it so nothing presses on the pad, for example in its own case rather than loose in a pocket of the bag.
Low-battery symptoms on a Callaway rangefinder
Callaway’s manuals name four signs that the battery needs changing:
- Empty battery icon: about 200 ranges left.
- Flashing battery icon: battery life is very low; replace it before the next use.
- No display when you press Power: the manuals’ first fix is a new battery.
- Readings that are consistently off: the 250 and 200s manuals list a battery change as the fix, and the 300 Pro manual says a weak battery signal "can affect the accuracy of the device".
Settings faults on the 300 Pro (no pulse vibration, two numbers on screen, yards and meters mixed up) are in the full symptom table on the Callaway 300 Pro page.
Cold-weather tip for Callaway rangefinder batteries
Callaway’s manuals tell owners not to store the rangefinder in extreme heat or cold, giving a range of below 50 °F or above 110 °F. A cart or car trunk on a frosty morning, or a hot summer afternoon, is outside that. In practice:
- Keep the rangefinder in the house, not the car, between rounds.
- On cold days carry it in a jacket pocket and only take it out to range. Lithium cells deliver less power when cold, so a low icon on a frosty morning does not always mean the cell is finished.
- Keep a spare CR2 in a warm pocket rather than the bag. The cold-weather ratings of the main CR2 brands are in the CR2 battery comparison.
Callaway rangefinder not working after a battery replacement?
- Check the plastic cover and the cell. The protective cover must be out, and the CR2 must be a fresh 3-volt lithium cell, not an RCR2.
- Tighten the cap fully. Turn it clockwise until it stops so the contacts meet.
- Try a second, name-brand CR2. A new cell can be dead in the pack.
- Warm it up. A unit that sat in a cold car may need time in a pocket.
- Check the settings, not just the battery. A wrong yards/meters setting or slope switched on can look like a fault; see how to turn off slope.
If it still fails, work through the wider checks in rangefinder not working. A fault that survives a fresh battery is a warranty matter: the Callaway manuals give one year from the original purchase date, and how claims work across brands is in rangefinder repair and warranty.
Callaway rangefinder battery FAQ
What kind of battery does a Callaway 300 Pro rangefinder use?
One CR2 3-volt lithium cell, under a twist-open hatch. The Limited Edition 300 Pro models use the same CR2. The 300 Pro+ is different: it has a built-in battery you charge over USB-C.
How do you change the battery in a Callaway rangefinder?
Lift the hatch tab, turn the cap counterclockwise to open, take out the old cell, remove the protective plastic battery cover, fit a new CR2 and tighten the cap clockwise. These steps are the same in the 300 Pro, 350TL, 250 and 200s manuals.
Are Callaway rangefinders rechargeable?
Some are. The 300 Pro+, Pro XS+ and Micro Pro charge over USB-C, and the Screen View has a rechargeable battery. The 300 Pro, 350TL, 250 and 200s take a replaceable CR2.
How long does a Callaway rangefinder battery last?
Callaway gives no rounds figure for CR2 models; an empty battery icon means about 200 ranges are left. Rechargeables: 30+ rounds per charge on the 300 Pro+, 100+ rounds on the Micro Pro, 6–8 hours on the Screen View.
What does the flashing battery icon mean on a Callaway rangefinder?
The battery is very low and should be replaced before the next use. A steady empty icon means about 200 ranges are left.
Can I use a CR123A in a Callaway rangefinder?
No. A CR123A has the same 3 volts but is longer and wider than a CR2, so it will not fit the battery compartment. Use a 3-volt lithium CR2.
How this page was made. Written by The Golf Rangefinder editorial team from the manuals Callaway publishes on callawaytag.com and Callaway’s own product pages. We do not test rangefinders in hand and we never claim to. Last checked: October 2026. Prices change; the retailer page is the final word.
Sources
- Callaway rangefinder manuals and quick start guides (callawaytag.com)
- Callaway 300 Pro user manual (PDF)
- Callaway 350TL user manual (PDF)
- Callaway 250 user manual (PDF)
- Callaway 200s user manual (PDF)
- Callaway Micro Pro user manual (PDF)
- Callaway Pro XS+ manual (PDF)
- Callaway Pro XS quick start guide (PDF)
- Callaway LS manual (PDF)
- Callaway XLS manual (PDF)
- 300 Pro+ product page (callawaytag.com)
- Pro XS+ product page (callawaytag.com)
- Screen View product page (callawaytag.com)
- CSi Pro product page (callawaytag.com)